Almonds and Raisins

‘Twas an Almond and a Raisin
In a dish all silver bright,
A Raisin dusky purple,
And an Almond creamy-white

Said the Raisin to the Almond
” I was once as full of wine
As a dewdrop is of sunlight,
And a glossy skin was mine.”

Said the Almond to the Raisin,
“And I’ve a tale to tell
I was born inside a flower,
And I lived within a shell.”

Said the Raisin to the Almond
“We are both from Southern lands,
And we come once more together,
Having fallen in English hands.”

“Don’t you think we ought to marry?
I am sure ‘twould be as well,
Though you have lost your juices,
And I have lost my shell.”

Said the Almond to the Raisin
“It is my dearest wish…..”
That’s why you always find them
Side by side within the dish!

F.W. Home, from a cookbook published in 1894

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment