I’m sharing a recipe that was given to me when I was about 12 years old.  My friend’s step-mother made this cake often and, when I asked her for the name of the cake, she just laughed and said that it was called Crazy Cake or Wacky Cake because it was so different from other cakes and you needed no eggs, not even a mixing bowl!  Well, I have been making this cake for over 67 years now, and it has never failed me.  It has been well received by family, friends, and co-workers.

I hope that you will enjoy this moist, chocolaty cake, as well.

 

WACKY CAKE

Preheat oven to 350º

Sift into a 9×13-inch pan, ungreased:
3 cups flour, all-purpose
1 tsp. salt
6 Tbsp. cocoa
2 tsp. baking soda
2 cups granulated sugar
Make 3 holes in the sifted ingredients.  In one hole, put 2 tsp. vinegar; in the second hole, put 2 tsp. vanilla; in the third hole, put ½ cup + 2 Tbsp. oil.  Pour 2 cups water over all and stir until all dry ingredients are mixed in well.  Make sure that to scrape all corners of pan well so that all ingredients are well mixed.  Bake at 350º for 40 minutes, or until tests done with toothpick or touching lightly with finger.  If using a glass baking dish, lower oven temperature to 325º.

You can add nuts or coconut to batter or put them on top after frosting.   You can frost this cake or sprinkle with powdered sugar or leave plain to serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment